Skip to content

Dia, The Voice, and “Heartless” magic

June 8, 2011

Of course the second I posted my blog of distress up here, I began to regret it.  Of course I can always say that I’m sticking with my gut and posting my naked soul out here…But then again, anyone could call me out for being a cry for attention and I would mope into a little ball without denying a thing.  Being a bit embarrassed about the last “lost & lonely” post, I hate to have to start this blog out with bringing it up… But I have to.  Why?  Because I’m feeling a bit better.

My advice to anyone who is at a “low” in their life could very well just be DO NOT wallow in sorrow and hope for something amazing to happen and save you and inspire you and get you back on your feet again.  It doesn’t happen that way.  Life is not that sweet.  Any good that happens to you when you’ve tripped and fallen in the mud or feel as if you’re running your fingers along a very dark tunnel is going to happen because of…?  YOU.

Now, pay attention now, because i’m going to do exactly what my teachers/classes have told me not to and flip/flop and contradict myself.  Something else pulled me out of the mud I had fallen out of…A light from someone else had shone through the dark tunnel.  (NO, I am not writing you from heaven).  Let me get specific with that shiny light at the end of the tunnel.  Could I possibly be referring to a spotlight…?  A stage light?  White fog?  A piano?  Dia?  Dia Frampton?

I was on my feet, watching her.  Twenty seconds into the song and I was thinking “Dia you are so beautiful”, and yet my shirt was literally soaked with sweat because I was so nervous.  Nerves get the best of us girls sometimes.  I saw her playing the piano, singing, slowly losing herself in the song.  I felt myself slowly losing myself in the moment. . . Just like she was.

That was it.  I saw brilliance.   I saw magic.  I felt brilliance.  I felt magic.  I wanted to be apart of it.  I wanted to be apart of something as magical as this.  I realized that there was enough purpose in the moment standing there watching my sister to carry me on for the rest of my life.  I smiled, finding it funny that I was hoping for something amazing to happen to me soon when I already knew I would be able to be with both of my older sisters at the same time.  I should have been able to predict a miracle knowing that the three of us would be able to spend some time together…

Dia finished the song and Meg and I were both in tears.  It was too much to handle.  We had seen all of Dia’s struggles.  We had seen her work ethic.  We were aware of her hopes and dreams…and here she was…An angel singing in front of millions live.  It was amazing.  It was a moment I’ll never forget.  The hug I gave Dia later that night probably broke her back…Sorry.  I was so proud… No.. I wasn’t proud of her… That sounds wrong.  I feel like I was so happy for her because she could finally finally finally be sincerely proud of herself…For a beautiful performance, yes, but also for having the guts to step onto that freaking stage.   I may be thought to be the “tougher” person in the family just because i’m the athlete, but after last night, we both know that Dia’s got the balls of the family 😉

A special someone sent us cupcakes to enjoy at the hotel.  Meg, Dia, and I indulged without guilt.  (Thank you, I know you’re reading this)  And they tasted great…and I sat there on the floor with a slice of a vanilla cupcake in my hand, looking at Meg and Dia.  We were just lounging around.  Laughing…Talking…Munching…Lounging…and yet I found it to be another beautiful moment…Two amazing, magical moments in one night!?  How could I have asked for more?  I had been rescued.  I had been saved.  My tears of sadness had been replaced by tears of joy.  How could I have overlooked the magic that exists between us?  I just needed a reminder…

No matter what life throws at me.  No matter what happens that makes life unbelievably cruddy at times…I always have the best older sisters in the world…And the the best younger sisters in the world.  (If you have sisters…Sorry, but mine are better).  I just needed to see them, hug them, laugh with them, munch with them, lounge with them…. just be with them for a little while for me to remember that.  It was like Dia had to perform in an angelic dress and sing her heart out for me to realize that.  It meant so much to her, to Meg, to me…To everyone really.  I suppose it might have done this to everyone, but her performance found me, saved me, inspired me, and sent me on my way.  The world that throws me in the dirt from time to time?  I’ve got 5 kick-ass sisters that will pick me up, dust me off, and hold my hand until I’m ready to walk, skip, and jump on my own.

Now, to do a little promotional work for Dia…(hey, hey, c’mon now, what did you expect? I’m her sister)

Watch her performance!  Vote for her!  You can vote three different ways, each way will accept ten votes each.

Online at http://www.nbc.com/the-voice/  (up to ten times)

On the phone via: 855-864-2304 (up to ten times)

And by buying her cover of “Heartless” on Itunes

Alrighty…That’s all for tonight.  Thank you for reading!

-IsGreenJaded

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    June 8, 2011 8:40 pm

    It’s great to see you are feeling better! On a sidenote…I already voted over 100 times…. 🙂

  2. jenn permalink
    June 9, 2011 10:17 pm

    I think it’s really cool that you found a new perspective so quickly. And you may credit it entirely to your sister, but I think you have to be open-minded and perceptive to make the switch from negative to positive.

    And I’m glad that you’re still blogging, even though you said you were taking a technology break. I look forward to reading your blog!

    • June 16, 2011 2:39 pm

      Technology never takes a break it seems! But now I am back and can answer the comments that I appreciate so much: like yours! Thanks for being there and reading even through the “dark ages” 🙂

  3. June 9, 2011 11:32 pm

    Tennis players. We’re inherently some of the loneliest people in the world, you can’t really blame yourself.

  4. Annie Le permalink
    June 9, 2011 11:42 pm

    This blog is too Cute!! Go DIa!!! 😎

  5. June 10, 2011 3:58 am

    This was absolutely beautiful. It’s funny how the simplicity of a moment when you aren’t exactly searching or forcing it, just comes to you… The want is there, but it always arrives on your doorstep when you’re not exactly looking. That’s how I have found it to be… It’s things like these that make us truly realize where we are and what we have. I think that’s very cool that you’ve found it in this!

    Keep on writing Jade. I’m right behind you!

    • June 16, 2011 2:40 pm

      Wow. Thank you so much. Thank you so much for the support and encouragement throughout my blogging 🙂

  6. Alexi permalink
    June 10, 2011 4:29 pm

    I really enjoy reading your posts! 🙂 Your relationship with your sisters remind me of mine with my sisters 🙂 I don’t spend a lot of time with them cause they’re always out at work or college, but when we do hang out, I’d definitely choose hanging out with them, than my friends any day. I don’t know what I’d do without them :’) ah but yeah, keep writing, playing tennis, hanging out with your sisters, and doing what you love!
    oh and it gives me chills EVERYTIME I listen to Dia’s cover of heartless. sooooo goooooood!

    • June 16, 2011 2:41 pm

      Thank you! You are one of the few that have told me you get along with your sisters! Yeah, I don’t get to see my sisters as often as I would like to too. But that’s why The Voice is so great, it’s like a family reunion! I get chills too from that song… and I’m her sister. I’m such a nerd!

  7. finestcreativity permalink
    June 14, 2011 11:39 am

    Keep your head up Jade!!! Like you said you will never ever ever ever be alone in this world, and you have so many people that surround you with pure love. And just put on one of your sister’s records when you need a reminder. They are always there for yooooouuu!!!

    and of course i voted 🙂 even stole my friends phones just to vote!!! haha

Leave a comment